Calendar of Events

< NovDecember 2016 Jan >
Featured on SACC New York
Latest Headlines

Dec 9, 2016 | 12:43 am EST

Väldigt viktig Vancouvervinst

Dec 9, 2016 | 6:02 pm EST What's News US

Lucia Trade Award

The Lucia Trade Award

The annual award is alternately given to a Swede and an American who has significantly contributed to fostering free trade between the two nations.

Instituted in 1988, the Lucia Trade Award commemorates the 350th anniversary of the first Swedish settlement in the United States. Like Saint Lucia herself, the award symbolizes light, hope and peace.

Each year, the Award is given to a person who has significantly contributed to fostering free trade between the U.S. and Sweden. It affirms a philosophy of peace through trade, and acknowledges that interdependence, cooperation and communication enhance mutual understanding. U.S. President Ronald Reagan was the inaugural recipient of the award, followed by H.R.H Prince Bertil, the first Swedish recipient.

The Award itself is an intriguing glass sculpture by Bertil Vallien, world renowned Swedish designer of Orrefors Kosta Boda crystal. Entitled “The Voyage”, the award is a 20-inch long sculpture in the form of a seafaring trade vessel. Captured within the hull of the ship are allegorical reference to the Swedish-American trade relations and the spirit of the Lucia tradition.

Included within the crystal sculpture is a vivid blue and yellow representation of the Swedish flag, a glass “parcel” signifying goods and free trade, a key-shaped metal object symbolizing “open doors” and the “Key of Kalmar (Kalmar Nyckel), the first ship that brought Swedish emigrants to America. Several free-floating stars represent America.

Recipients include: 

2015: Inge G. Thulin Chairman of the Board, President & Chief Executive Officer, 3M

The Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce, Inc. is pleased to announce that Inge G. Thulin, Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of 3M will be presented with the Chamber’s 28th annual Lucia Trade Award during a gala dinner on December 3, 2015, held at The Pierre in New York City.

Inge Thulin has been 3M’s Chairman, President and CEO for more than three years, capping a career with the company that has spanned nearly four decades. In 2003, Mr. Thulin assumed the position of Executive Vice President for International Operations, and in 2011 he became Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer. Less than a year later, he was appointed President and CEO, shortly followed by the addition of the chairmanship of 3M’s Board of Directors.

Mr. Thulin currently also serves as Director of Chevron Corporation, as well as Chairman of the Greater Twin Cities (Minnesota) United Way Campaign for 2015.

“We are truly honored to add Mr. Thulin’s name to the long list of distinguished recipients of the Lucia Trade Award,” says Steve Trygg, Chairman of SACC New York. “Mr. Thulin embodies the very core of what the Lucia Trade Award stands for: formidable cross-Atlantic success for a company managed by a formidable cross-Atlantic success in his own right. No surprise to also find Mr. Thulin as a former Board Trustee of the United States Council for International Business.”

2014: Annika Falkengren President & CEO, SEB

SACC New York is pleased to announce that Annika Falkengren, President  & CEO of Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken (SEB), will be presented with the 27th Annual Lucia Trade Award during a Gala Dinner on December 1, 2014, held at The Pierre in New York City. Ms. Falkengren will receive the award in recognition of her strong support of free trade. 

Annika Falkengren was named President and CEO of SEB in 2005, following a long and successful career with the bank. Aside from her commitments with SEB, Ms. Falkengren chairs the Swedish Bankers’ Association and is member of the supervisory board of Volkswagen, as well as member of the board of Securitas. Ms. Falkengren has earned several renowned nominations, such as “European Banker of the Year” in 2012. Other nominations include, Fortune Magazine’s “Top 10 Most Powerful Women Globally”, and The Financial News’ “100 most influential people in European Capital Markets”.

Ms. Falkengren is a longstanding, active and supporting board member of the Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce in New York. She has been speaking at several of the Chamber’s events, as well as provided support to the annual Executive Women’s Conference.

“The financial industry has been under severe pressure in recent years. During this time, Annika Falkengren has displayed an unwavering focus and a steadfast commitment to supporting SEB’s clients’ in their international business and trade. We are very proud to announce Ms. Falkengren as the recipient of the 2014 Lucia Trade Award and truly honored to add her name to the long list of distinguished recipients,” says Steve Trygg, Chairman of SACC New York.

2013: Michael Corbat CEO, Citi

Michael Corbat received the 2013 Lucia Trade Award in recognition of his longstanding support of free trade.

Michael Corbat was named CEO of Citi in October 2012, following a long and successful career within the company. Prior to being named CEO, Mr. Corbat served as Citi's CEO of Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA), overseeing all of Citi's business operations in the region, including consumer banking, corporate and investment banking, securities and trading and private banking services.

Mr. Corbat has been at Citi and its predecessor companies since his graduation from Harvard University with a bachelor's degree in economics in 1983. During his career, he has also served as the CEO of Citi Holdings, Citi's portfolio of non-core businesses and assets; CEO of Citi's Global Wealth Management unit; and as Head of the Global Corporate Bank and Global Commercial Bank at Citi. In his various advisory and structuring roles, Mr. Corbat has successfully guided retail and institutional clients across the spectrum of financial services and through significant challenges.

Mr. Corbat is a former board member of The Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce, Inc. and has previously received the Chamber’s annual Member of the Year Award for his support of the organization. During the 2012 SACC Executive Women’s Conference, Mr. Corbat was also presented with the SACC New York Mentor Award for his support of women in business.

2012: Bertil Hult Founder, EF Education First

The 25th Annual Lucia Trade Award is presentedto Mr. Bertil Hult in recognition of his longstandingsupport of free trade as Founder ofEF Education First.Bertil Hult is the founder of the educationaland language school company EF EducationFirst.

He formed the company in 1965 andserved as its Chief Executive Officer until 2002and as Chairman until 2008. Under Bertil Hult’s supervision, EF has grown into a multi billion dollar corporation with more than 34,000 employees in 53 different countries. A recent addition to the education group is theHult International Business School, currently present in five cities around the world, andnamed after Bertil Hult.

Apart from EF, Bertil Hult has been involved in various charities fighting drug abuse and promoting dyslexia education. He was a founding member of the Mentor Foundation in 1993, an organization focused on supporting research and initiatives in drug prevention. He has since served as Chairman and currently as trustee for the foundation. Bertil Hult also supports the annual Bertil Hult Prize, founded in 2003, which is awarded to a Swedish school for its support of dyslexia education.

Bertil Hult also sponsors the Hult Global Case Challenge, an annual business case competition donating $1 million to select charities. More recently, the Hult family founded the EF Global Classroom Foundation, whose goal it is to help rebuild elementary schools in disaster areas. In 2006 he was named International Swede of the Year.

1 2 3 4 5 ...7