Calendar of Events

< NovDecember 2014 Jan >

SACC New York Events

Featured on SACC New York
Latest Headlines
Member of the Year Award

Member of the Year Award

The Member of the Year Award is presented to a person who has promoted and supported SACC New York in an outstanding way.

First given in 2000, this Award is presented annually at the Christmas Luncheon & Lucia Celebration to a member who has significantly contributed to the Chamber’s overall future growth and success.

Recipients include:

  • 2013: Peter Gustafsson Independent Advisor at Future Grace AB and Former Partner at Deloitte

    Peter Gustafsson is a Former Partner of Deloitte, where he worked for more than 17 years. Presently, Mr. Gustafsson is an Independent Advisor at Future Grace AB and is also running a restaurant in Thailand. Peter Gustafsson is a longstanding friend of The Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce and has been a Board Member of the Chamber since 2008. In addition, Mr. Gustavsson is a Board Member of FTT Intressenter AB and also Chairman of the Board of Amentor.

    Mr. Gustafsson was presented the award in appreciation for his longstanding support and exceptional contributions made to benefit the growth and success of the Chamber.

  • 2012: Conny Ek CFO, Skanska USA

    The 2012 award was presented to Conny Ek, who has been a tireless advocate for SACC New York and gone above and beyond in supporting the Chamber and its activities.

    Mr. Ek is the CFO of Skanska USA, where he has worked for 20 years, the first 12 years in Sweden and the last 8 years here in the United States. In his role as CFO, Ek has been closely involved in many facets of the exciting development of the Skanska USA business that has taken place during these years. Thanks to his earlier experience from the Skanska head office in Sweden, he has also been able to play an important role in the building of the "One Skanska" concept with greater coordination and cooperation between the Skanska business units in Sweden and USA. This exemplifies the Chamber’s goal of building bridges between the two countries.

    Mr. Ek’s volunteer commitments directly to the Chamber are also impressive. He has served on the Chamber’s Finance Committee since 2008. He has during the course of the years sponsored various Chamber activities, including hosting several Young Professionals tours and event’s at a variety of Skanska’s sites throughout the city. We congratulate him on earning this well-deserved honor!

  • 2011: Cathinka Wahlström MP, NY Metro & MD, N.A. Banking, Accenture

    Cathinka Wahlstrom is the MP, NY Metro & MD, N.A. Banking, of Accenture’s New York Office.  She is also the Global Client Partner for one of the firm’s larger clients – a Fortune 20 company headquartered in New York City.

    Cathinka’s work focuses on supporting mergers and acquisitions, business change and transformational programs and technology initiatives.  She has built deep client relationships among capital markets, stock exchanges and banking clients.  She has worked extensively throughout North America, Europe and Asia.

    Cathinka was presented with the 2011 Swedish-American Chamber of Commerce “Member of the Year Award” for her generous contribution and longstanding support of the future growth and success of the Chamber. Cathinka was selected a board member in 2008 and elected a member of the Executive Committee in 2009. She is presently serving as Chairman of the Nominating Committee. Furthermore, she is a supporter of the Executive Women’s Conference and has spoken at several conferences.

  • 2010: Haakan B. Anderson Guldkula Founder, TracTechnology AB

    Haakan B. Anderson Guldkula is the Founder of TracTechnology and a member of the SACC New York Board of Directors. Mr. Anderson Guldkula and SACC New York’s collaboration stretches back 25 years. His form of generosity has also made history at the Chamber – the three Haakan B. Anderson Guldkula Foundation Scholarships are the first-ever donated back to SACC New York by a previous scholar.

  • 2009: Henrik Steinbrecher Senior Partner & Vice Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers Sweden

    Henrik Steinbrecher is Senior Partner & Vice Chairman of PricewaterhouseCoopers. Mr. Steinbrecher is specialised in the field of Corporate Finance and Real Estate. The clients he serves are international and domestic institutional and corporate investors in real estate and related infrastructure. He often works on assignments with both Government as well as Private sector clients concerning Transaction support, Due diligence, M&A Services, Valuations, and Business Transformation. PricewaterhouseCoopers has been a valuable and loyal member company for many years and was the generous host of our annual Board meeting in Stockholm in August.

  • 2008: Michael L. Corbat CEO of Europe, the Middle East and Africa, Citi

    Michael Corbat, is the CEO of Europe, the Middle East and Africa of Citi, a major financial services company, where he oversees the global financial service and has been with the company since 1983. The Chairman of SACC New York, Tomas K.G. Ericson, presented the Member of the Year award to Michael Corbat December 9, 2008. Mr. Corbat, a SACC New York Board Member, has been an invaluable asset to the Chamber in his commitment to our Year of Going Green. Mr. Corbat's firm was a generous sponsor and host of the successful New York Green Summit.

  • 2007: Staffan Lundbäck Senior Counsel, Nixon Peabody

    The Chairman of SACC New York, Tomas K.G. Ericson, presented the Member of the Year award to Staffan Lundbäck at the 2007 Christmas Luncheon. Mr. Lundbäck is a Senior Consel at the prestigious law firm, Nixon Peabody, and a longtime member of SACC New York's Board of Directors and Executive Committee. Mr. Lundbäck left Sweden in his youth for America. In accepting the award, he credited SACC New York as an organization that has allowed him to "reconnect with his roots" and establish a "home away from home" in New York.

1 2